top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejeho6092

Web Work Reading Blog

Updated: Nov 29, 2021



This article was very interesting! I did find it a little difficult to read through, since I am not very familiar with net terms, but overall I really enjoyed it. It took me through the many stages that net art has gone through over the years. From its accidental beginnings in 1995, net art has blossomed into an art form practiced by so many artists across the globe. Before this class began, I stuck to more traditional types of art. But after doing all of these awesome projects in DA1, I have developed a strong interest in digital art. Learning more about the origins of this art form is exciting since there is so much that goes on in the web world especially in this day and age. Similar to many other art forms, net art initially struggled to gain the respect and credibility it deserved. But as more and more artists began to dip their toes into this new way to express themselves creatively, it became more mainstream and acknowledged by the community. The article highlighted tons of popular net artists who paved the way for the way the art form is practiced today. I really enjoyed reading about the rise of feminist Net Art in 1997. Female net artists like Rachel Baker, Beth Stryker and Shu Lea Cheang pushed societal boundaries to bring their views and creativity to the world. I am excited to see what the future has in store for net art. I can imagine that AR and VR technologies will become increasingly used in these creative movements.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page